Jeanette Winterson: The Passion

(2163 words)

The Passion is Jeanette Winterson’s second novel after her debut novel Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and after the publication of the comic book Boating for Beginners, which had threatened to distract from her more serious literary achievements. The novel consolidated her position as an exciting and innovative writer at the forefront of the British literary scene, and effectively overshadowed the largely negative or misunderstood reviews of Boating for Beginners (1985). The Passion was widely acclaimed, awarded the John Llewelyn Rhys Prize in 1987, and continues to be regarded highly amongst her work; however, when questioned as to whether it should be considered her best novel, Winterson h…

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Cox, Katharine. "The Passion". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 April 2007
[, accessed 28 September 2016.]

Related Groups

  1. Magical Realism in Literature
  2. Metafictional Writing