C. P. Snow: The New Men (2495 words)

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error

The New Men (1954) focuses on the British attempt in the Second World War to make an atomic bomb. In historical fact, some of the key events in this process occurred between 1945 and 1949, but Snow transfers them to the wartime period for dramatic effect (Halperin, 1982, 165). The New Men was originally the fifth novel to be published in Snow's “Strangers and Brothers” series but Snow placed it sixth when he rearranged the sequence for the 1982 omnibus edition. It covers the years 1939-47, thus partly overlapping in time with the fourth novel in the series, The Light and the Dark (1947), whose action runs from 1934-43, and the seventh, Homecomings (1956), which spans the period 1938-51. As …

Tredell, Nicolas. "The New Men". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 May 2007
[https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=85, accessed 18 October 2017.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.