Jeanette Winterson, Written on the Body

Aloisia Sorop
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

The novel Written on the Body (1992) was published after Jeanette Winterson had gained international reputation as a postmodernist ‘queer' writer with her previous novels Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1985), Boating for Beginners (1985), The Passion (1987) and Sexing the Cherry (1989). She was hailed from her very first novel as a very promising writer of the new generation. Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit earned her the Whitbread First Novel Award, The Passion the John Llewelyn Rhys Prize and Sexing the Cherry the E.M. Foster Award. Her first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, was made into a highly popular TV drama that won two BAFTA awards, one f…

2988 words

Citation: Sorop, Aloisia. "Written on the Body". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 December 2008 [, accessed 26 September 2023.]

8889 Written on the Body 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.