Primo Levi

(2889 words)
  • Jeannette Baxter (Anglia Ruskin University)

The writings of Primo Levi have been read predominantly in terms of Holocaust literature. From his early testimonies, If this is a Man (1958) and The Truce (1963), to works such as The Periodic Table (1975), The Wrench (1978), Moments of Reprieve (1981), If not Now, When (1982) and through to his final admonition, The Drowned and the Saved (1986), Levi never ceased from bearing witness to the incommensurable horrors of Nazi genocide, and, specifically, his own experience of incarceration in Auschwitz. Each novel is, in the survivor's own words, an “account of atrocities”, and the immediate and violent impulse which pushes each narrative forward is the overwhelming need to …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Baxter, Jeannette. "Primo Levi". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 20 September 2002
[, accessed 07 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Holocaust Literature