Nathalie Sarraute (3269 words)

Nathalie Sarraute lived through almost the whole of the twentieth century, from Tsarist Russia to the Russian Revolution, through two World Wars, Stalin, Hitler, the Occupation of France, the Holocaust, the Nuclear Age and the Space Age. Her fundamentally poetic and innovative work is, however, focused not outward on the major events and changes she lived through, but inward, on the hidden undercurrents that move beneath the spoken word, beneath the surface of language. Her relatively small output, collected in her Œuvres complètes (henceforth OC in references), consists of eight works styled “novels”, though not within the conventions of the genre, four books of short passages/prose poems, six plays, a best-selling …

Minogue, Valerie . "Nathalie Sarraute". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 November 2009
[, accessed 10 December 2016.]

Articles on Sarraute's works

  1. Enfance [Childhood]
  2. Le Planétarium