John Banville

(2541 words)
  • Pietra Palazzolo (University of Essex)

Described in the London Review of Books as “one of the most important writers now at work in English”, John Banville is author of 12 works of fiction, a collection of short stories and three plays. Like few other novelists active in this period – A.S. Byatt and Peter Ackroyd, for example – Banville writes fiction that neither succumbs to a kind of extreme postmodern experimentalism nor attempts a nostalgic reconstruction of the unattainable past. Banville’s management of historical events and subjects sets him apart from more politically involved writers, conveyed, as it is, in a language that plays with and subtly subverts fixed categories of knowledge (fact/fiction; real/unreal).

Naturally, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Palazzolo, Pietra. "John Banville". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 17 September 2003
[, accessed 06 July 2015.]

Articles on Banville's works

  1. Birchwood
  2. Doctor Copernicus
  3. Eclipse
  4. Kepler
  5. Long Lankin
  6. Prague Pictures: Portraits of a City
  7. The Book of Evidence
  8. The Newton Letter: An Interlude
  9. The Sea
  10. The Untouchable