R. D. Laing

(2189 words)
  • Daniel Burston (Duquesne University )
  • Gavin Miller (University of Glasgow)

Ronald David Laing was born on the 7th October 1927 on 26 Ardbeg Street in the Govanhill district of Glasgow, the only child of David and Amelia Laing. David Laing started his career as an engineer and ordnance man in the Royal Tank Corps and Royal Air Corps, and became a civil engineer for the Corporation of Glasgow. He was principal baritone for the Glasgow University Chapel choir, and enjoyed musical past-times exceedingly. Amelia, his wife, had a reputation as a secretive, suspicious and eccentric person, who – as her son later recalled – drove her husband's musical friends and collaborators away from their apartment through her hostile and duplicitous behavior. But David had his own peculiarities. His family background was …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Burston, Daniel, Gavin Miller. "R. D. Laing". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 August 2005
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=5951, accessed 29 May 2016.]

Articles on Laing's works

  1. Conversations with Children
  2. Do You Love Me?: An Entertainment in Conversation and Verse
  3. Interpersonal Perception
  4. Knots
  5. Reason and Violence
  6. Sanity, Madness and the Family
  7. Self and Others
  8. Sonnets
  9. The Divided Self
  10. The Facts of Life
  11. The Politics of Experience and The Bird of Paradise
  12. The Politics of the Family
  13. The Voice of Experience
  14. Wisdom, Madness and Folly