Sir Thomas Wriothesley and Sir Ralph Sadler become principal secretaries

(46 words)
  • Editors

Historical Context Note

In England, the office of principal secretary, which had previously been held by Thomas Cromwell, is now divided between two men, in a system that, with minor alterations, is to last until 1782. The first holders of these posts are Sir Thomas Wriothesley and Sir Ralph Sadler.
Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Editors. "Sir Thomas Wriothesley and Sir Ralph Sadler become principal secretaries". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 November 2010
[, accessed 29 September 2016.]