Quadruple Alliance against Spain

(119 words)
  • Editors

Historical Context Note

The Quadruple Alliance is formed between France, the Emperor, England and the Dutch Republic against the Spain of Philip V. Incentive for the alliance came about when the Spanish seized Sicily and Cardinal Alberoni, first minister of Spain under Philip V, drew up a plan for a Swedish attack on Scotland, a combined Russo-Swedish attack on Hanover and a Spanish invasion of England. Under the terms of the Alliance, the Emperor and Philip of Spain were to renounce claims to each other's possessions, Savoy was to exchange Sicily for Sardinia, and the succession to Tuscany and Parma was to be secured by the children of Philip's second marriage. The alliance's members agreed to declare war on Spain if necessary.
Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Editors. "Quadruple Alliance against Spain". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 April 2011
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/stopics.php?rec=true&UID=17224, accessed 26 May 2015.]