Suez Canal convention opens it to all nations in war and peace

(38 words)
  • Editors

Historical Context Note

The European powers sign the Suez Canal convention at Constantinople, declaring the canal open to all nations in both war and peace. The signatories are Britain, France, Germany, Austria-Hungary, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Russia and the Ottoman Empire.
Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Editors. "Suez Canal convention opens it to all nations in war and peace". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 December 2011
[, accessed 01 October 2016.]