Presidency of James Monroe

(151 words)

Historical Context Note

James Monroe (28th of April, 1758 - 4th July, 1831) was the fifth President of the United States, serving two terms from 1817 to 1825.

Monroe easily won the 1816 Presidential election, and was re-elected to his second term in 1820. Monroe's popularity as president coincided with what has been termed the 'Era of Good Feelings', a period which saw relative political harmony, and little partisanship within politics, something Monroe did much to encourage. His first term is remembered for the Panic of 1819, the first major financial crisis in the United States which caused bank failures, extensive unemployment and a decline in manufacturing and farming. Monroe is also famous for his proclamation of the Monroe Doctrine in 1823, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.