Lawrence Durrell: The Revolt of Aphrodite

(1061 words)
  • Grove Koger (Independent Scholar - Europe)

Lawrence Durrell published the first volume of the series that would eventually become known as The Revolt of Aphrodite in 1968. It had been eight years since he had completed the highly acclaimed novels that make up The Alexandria Quartet, and expectations were running high. Yet the work’s title – Tunc – puzzled (if not titillated, given its anagrammatical possibilities), and its tone – acerbic, satirical, crudely bawdy – disappointed those who expected more of the psychological depth or sometimes lush romanticism of the earlier works. As Durrell himself observed, his new novel did not even “pretend to pretend.”

The second and final volume, Nunquam, appeared two years later, but its …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Koger, Grove. "The Revolt of Aphrodite". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 October 2003
[, accessed 30 September 2016.]