David Mitchell: Cloud Atlas

(1649 words)

Cloud Atlas was David Mitchell’s third published novel. It successfully combines ludic experimentalism with an affectionate play on popular plots, and is a masterpiece of contemporary metafiction. Cloud Atlas has enjoyed critical esteem and popular approval in equal measure: not only was it accessible enough to win the Richard and Judy Best Read of the Year Award in 2005, it reached the shortlist for the Man Booker Prize in 2004. It was selected as one of the 25 books to be distributed free by volunteers across the UK on World Book Night in 2011. It has been adapted into a film by the Wachowski brothers (writers and directors of The Matrix), scheduled for release in 2012.

Cloud Atlas has a …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Stephenson, William. "Cloud Atlas". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 February 2012
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=24863, accessed 02 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Metafictional Writing
  2. Postmodernist British Fiction