William Morris: The Roots of the Mountains

(2051 words)

In November of 1889, William Morris’s The Roots of the Mountains was published by Reeves & Turner, the second of his series of eight prose romances that he wrote during the last decade of his life. Its predecessor, The House of the Wolfings (1888), recounts the successful struggles of a first-century Gothic tribe against an army of invading Romans. The new book is in many ways a sequel to the earlier one. It too describes a Gothic tribe’s struggles against an invader — this time the Huns, whose violent interactions with the Gothic tribes began in the last quarter of the fourth century. In The Roots of the Mountains a heroic tribe called the Sons of the Wolf or the House of the Wolf plays a …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Boenig, Robert. "The Roots of the Mountains". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 August 2007
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=7618, accessed 03 July 2015.]