Doris May Lessing: The Four-Gated City: Children of Violence Novel Sequence

(2756 words)

Published seven years after The Golden Notebook, The Four-Gated City (1969) is the fifth, final and longest volume of the Children of Violence (1952-1969), a series of autobiographical novels including Martha Quest (1952), A Proper Marriage (1954), A Ripple from the Storm (1958), and Landlocked (1965), which relates the various stages of Lessing’s heroine Martha Quest’s life from adolescence onwards. Undeniably one of Doris Lessing’s major works, it was particularly praised by Horace Engdhal, the Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy in 2007, when Lessing received the Nobel Prize for Literature. This voluminous novel reveals a turning point in Lessing’s writing career. Its …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Brevet, Anne-Laure. "The Four-Gated City: Children of Violence Novel Sequence". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 23 April 2015
[, accessed 26 September 2016.]