Richard Wagner (2)

Anca Luca Holden (Smith College)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

A versatile writer and the winner of numerous literary prizes (among which the 1987 Leonce- und-Lena-Sonderpreis, the Andreas-Gryphius-prize in 1988, with Gerhardt Csejka, Helmuth Frauendorfer, Klaus Hensel, Johann Lippet, Herta Müller, Werner Söllner, William Totok the Deutscher Sprachpreis (1989); the Stipendium der Villa Massimo in Rom (1990/91), the Neuer deutscher Literaturpreis, first awarded in 2000, and the Georg Dehio Book Award in 2008), Richard Wagner is considered one of the most prominent writers in contemporary German literature. At a time when much of the spotlight is on the literature in German written “under the sign of Turkish presence”, Wagner’s texts draw attention to several little-discussed categories of newcomers to Germany: ethnic Germans (particularly from…

2548 words

Citation: Holden, Anca Luca. "Richard Wagner (2)". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 27 December 2010 [, accessed 29 May 2024.]

12522 Richard Wagner (2) 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.