Gladys Mitchell

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Gladys Mitchell (1901-83) was the most mischievously inventive of the detective novelists who emerged during the so-called Golden Age (approximately 1920-39) of the genre in England. A member of the famous Detection Club, she enjoyed a long career, publishing more than seventy crime novels between 1929 and her two posthumous books of 1984. Sixty-six of these novels feature her most remarkable creation, the series detective Mrs Beatrice Adela Lestrange Bradley (in post-1955 works honoured as Dame Beatrice), a consultant psychiatrist to the Home Office, noted for her reptilian appearance, her unnerving cackle, and her infallible insight into criminal motives. Mitchell’s works are distinguished principally by their stylishly rendered …

1806 words

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "Gladys Mitchell". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 07 September 2020 [, accessed 07 February 2023.]

14622 Gladys Mitchell 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.