Julian Barnes (2684 words)

Since 1980, Julian Barnes has made a name for himself as one of the strongest and most interesting of the novelists of his generation, a group that also includes Martin Amis and Ian McEwan. His work is distinguished by its intelligence and wit; its ready willingness to deal with important themes; and its versatility. Even aside from his detective novels, Barnes’s work demonstrates a continual freshness. In scope, or ostensible scope, they range from the story of a man seeking the original parrot used by Flaubert while he wrote one of his stories, to a professed history of the world (these two books, Flaubert’s Parrot and A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters, are probably his best known), though since he …

Moseley, Merritt. "Julian Barnes". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 06 May 2001; last revised 27 July 2016.
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=267, accessed 08 December 2016.]

Articles on Barnes' works

  1. A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters
  2. Arthur and George
  3. England, England
  4. Flaubert's Parrot
  5. Levels of Life
  6. Nothing to be Frightened Of

Related Groups

  1. Metafictional Writing
  2. Postmodernist British Fiction