Ian McEwan (2037 words)

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error

Born on June 21 1948, Ian Russell McEwan grew up in Aldershot and at military stations in countries such as Singapore and Libya. His mother had two much older children from an earlier marriage, but McEwan always considered himself very much “an only child” right up to the point in 2007 when a long-lost brother was suddenly made known to him. The new sibling, David, was the product of an affair McEwan's mother had had with his father during the war, before they were married.

After an army childhood largely spent abroad, McEwan attended Woolverstone state boarding-school in Suffolk from 1959 to 1966. Subsequently he read English and French at the University of Sussex before enrolling for the modern fiction and creative writing …

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Childs, Peter. "Ian McEwan". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 January 2001; last revised 24 August 2016.
[https://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=3041, accessed 17 January 2018.]

Articles on McEwan's works

  1. “My Purple Scented Novel”
  2. Amsterdam
  3. Atonement
  4. Black Dogs
  5. Enduring Love
  6. First Love, Last Rites
  7. In Between the Sheets
  8. Nutshell
  9. On Chesil Beach
  10. Saturday
  11. Sweet Tooth
  12. The Cement Garden
  13. The Child in Time
  14. The Children Act
  15. The Comfort of Strangers
  16. The Innocent

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.