Diana Wynne Jones was the prolific and endlessly inventive author of more than forty novels. The large majority of her books were published for children, the audience with which she is particularly associated; however, Jones has a substantial adult following and also wrote some novels for adult imprints. Apart from her first published book (


, 1970) all her books fall into the category of speculative fiction. Jones has also written a substantial number of short stories, essays and articles, and two comic non-fiction books (

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland

(1996; revised 2006), 

The Skiver's Guide

(1984; revised 2006)).

Jones was born in London on 16 August 1934, the daughter of Richard Aneurin Jones and Marjorie (neĆ© Jackson), both educationalists. When war was declared,

1483 words

Citation: Butler, Catherine . "Diana Wynne Jones". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 14 December 2005; last revised 24 May 2022. [https://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=6037, accessed 17 April 2024.]

6037 Diana Wynne Jones 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.