League of tribes founded by Iroquois Indians (32 words)

Historical Context Note

  • The Literary Encyclopedia. Volume : WORLD HISTORY AND IDEAS: A CROSS-CULTURAL VOLUME.


The Iroquois League was formed by an association of the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga and Seneca nations around 1570. The Iroquois refer to themselves as the Haudenosaunee, which means People of the Longhouse.

Related Groups

  1. First Peoples in North America