Franco-Spanish peace Treaty of Nijmegen (68 words)

Historical Context Note

  • Editors
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error
  • The Literary Encyclopedia. Volume 1.5.1: Dutch and Flemish Writing and Culture, 800-present.


France and Spain sign a Peace Treaty of Nijmegen, a counterpart to that signed by the French and Dutch the previous month. In this agreement, not only does France gain control of Franche-Comté, but also acquires 14 towns including Valenciennes, Cambrai and Ypres, effectively making up a line of fortifications from the Marne to Dunkirk. In return, France restores Charleroi, Ghent and other conquests in the Netherlands and Catalonia.

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Editors. "Franco-Spanish peace Treaty of Nijmegen". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 April 2011
[, accessed 20 October 2017.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.