USSR forms the Warsaw Pact with East European Communist states

Historical Context Note

Pawel Styrna (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error


Officially known as the Agreement for Friendship, Cooperation, and Mutual Assistance (in Russian:

Dogovor o druzhbe, sotrudnichestve i vzaimnoi pomoshchi

), the pact was a communist military alliance dominated by the Soviet Union. Its other members were Poland, East Germany, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Albania (until the 1960s). A Soviet marshal was always the head of the Pact’s United Armed Forces. According to communist propaganda, it was a defensive response to “imperialist aggression”, i.e. to the establishment of NATO in 1949 and West Germany’s entry into the alliance in May 1955. However, the armed forces of the Central and Eastern European satellites of the USSR were de facto appendages to the Soviet Army ever since the communist takeover of these…

221 words

Citation: Styrna, Pawel. "USSR forms the Warsaw Pact with East European Communist states". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 26 June 2009 [, accessed 14 July 2024.]

3273 USSR forms the Warsaw Pact with East European Communist states 2 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.