Cormac McCarthy, No Country for Old Men

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Cormac McCarthy’s body of fiction often offers a relentless, unsparing examination of violence, but it is also mercurial and unpredictable. In the middle part of his career, for instance, he worked within the tradition of the western. Four novels—his putative masterpiece,

Blood Meridian

(1985), and the three books comprising the Border Trilogy:

All the Pretty Horses


The Crossing

(1994), and

Cities of the Plain

(1998)—all owe a large debt to the genre, while simultaneously dismantling many of its expectations, ideologies, and aesthetics. Those works also explore the vast philosophical questions about good, evil, and fate for which McCarthy is known. Then, in 2005, he published

No Country for Old Men

. Like the four previous novels,

No Country for Old Men

draws on many of the…

2497 words

Citation: Banco, Lindsey Michael. "No Country for Old Men". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 September 2016 [, accessed 25 July 2024.]

31212 No Country for Old Men 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.