In compiling his

Collected Poems 1909-1935

(1936), T. S. Eliot grouped four of his shorter poems in a distinct section headed “Ariel Poems”; this group was later enlarged to five poems in the

Collected Poems 1909-1962

(1963). The name comes from that of the series in which each had been independently published: the “Ariel Poems”, published by the London firm of Faber & Gwyer (renamed Faber & Faber from 1929), of which Eliot was a director. The first thirty-eight Ariel Poems by several leading poets of the time had appeared between 1927 and 1931 as small four-page illustrated pamphlets that could be used as superior greetings cards, for Christmas or otherwise, or simply retained as collectors’ items by bibliophiles. Eliot’s contributions to that initial Ariel Poems series were

742 words

Citation: Baker, William. "Ariel Poems". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 20 April 2021 [, accessed 30 May 2024.]

40471 Ariel Poems 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.