Michèle Roberts, A Piece of the Night

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
A Piece of the Night

is Michèle Roberts' first published novel, developed while she was part of a feminist writing group in London in the seventies. The group also included Zoe Fairbairns, Valerie Miner, Sara Maitland and Michelene Wandor. As a group they published two collections of short stories:

Tales I Tell My Mother

(1978) and

More Tales I Tell My Mother

(1986). Roberts also published poetry with Wandor and Judith Kazantzis, in

Touch Papers

(1982). In the late eighties Fairbairns, Maitland and Roberts contributed to two more collections of short stories by women writers:

The Seven Deadly Sins

(1988) and

The Seven Cardinal Virtues

(1990), both edited by Alison Fell. Sarah Maitland wrote about the different reception both she and Roberts received from critics regarding their early…

1897 words

Citation: White, Rosemary. "A Piece of the Night". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 27 November 2003 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=10195, accessed 19 June 2024.]

10195 A Piece of the Night 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.