Lawrence Durrell: The Alexandria Quartet (2107 words)

Grove Koger (Independent Scholar - Europe)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

The four novels of The Alexandria QuartetJustine (1957), Balthazar (1958), Mountolive (1958), and Clea (1960) – appeared in rapid succession in Britain and the United States, exciting critical acclaim and enjoying popular success. Lawrence Durrell had been known to a small readership for his poetry, his experimental (and banned) novel The Black Book (1938), and his travel memoirs Prospero's Cell (1945) and Reflections on a Marine Venus (1953). Now, in four substantial volumes, he seemed to have marshalled his resources and staked a claim to both literary greatness and bestsellerdom. Whatever the merits of the works his contemporaries were producing in the 1950s, most of …

Koger, Grove. "The Alexandria Quartet". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 October 2002
[, accessed 24 October 2019.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.