Ursula Le Guin: A Wizard of Earthsea (2291 words)


Related Groups

In 1967, Ursula K. Le Guin was asked to write a book for readers 11-17 years old by Herman Schein of Parnassus Press. The book that she would write became known as A Wizard of Earthsea. Published in 1968, this became the first novel in Le Guin’s Earthsea cycle. The Earthsea cycle would ultimately span six books and nearly thirty-five years of her writing career. 1968 seems to have been a banner year for the first books of fantasy series, as A Wizard of Earthsea was one of several first volumes published, Peter S. Beagle’s The Last Unicorn (1968) and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonflight (1968) being two other notable examples. This was not Le Guin’s first book-length undertaking. In …

Citation: Shelton, Luke. "A Wizard of Earthsea". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 07 October 2019 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=11786, accessed 26 October 2021.]

11786 A Wizard of Earthsea 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here