Robert Bly: The Morning Glory (545 words)


Other Resources

Robert Bly's The Morning Glory (1975) is a collection of forty-four prose poems. Fourteen of these are poems new to this edition, while the others were originally published in two earlier chapbooks, The Morning Glory (1970) and Point Reyes Poems (1974). Morning Glory therefore anticipates Bly's later collection of prose poems, This Body Is Made of Camphor and Gopherwood (1977), and his collected prose poems, What Have I Ever Lost by Dying (1992). (For a statement of Bly's theory and practice of the prose poem, see the entry on This Body Is Made of Camphor and Gopherwood.)

The first poem in Morning Glory ends with the phrase “where we will be reborn, ecstatic and black.�…

Citation: Davis, William V.. "The Morning Glory". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 06 November 2001 [, accessed 08 December 2022.]

122 The Morning Glory 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.