Wilson Harris: Palace of the Peacock

(2722 words)

Palace of the Peacock was the first published novel of (Sir Theodore) Wilson Harris (b. 1921) and remains his most widely read. Written after Harris had left British Guiana, later Guyana, and settled in Britain in 1959, it was accepted for Faber and Faber by T.S. Eliot and published in 1960. Palace of the Peacock is the first in a series of four novels — the others being The Far Journey of Oudin (1961), The Whole Armour (1962), and The Secret Ladder (1963) — that would later be collected in a single volume as The Guyana Quartet (1985). None of Harris’s fictional works contains a straightforwardly linear and realistic narrative, and Palace of the Peacock is …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Otto, Melanie. "Palace of the Peacock". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 10 June 2011
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=15487, accessed 25 September 2016.]

Related Groups

  1. Postcolonial literature - Britain, The Caribbean, Australia, New Zealand