Henry Roth: Mercy of a Rude Stream Volume 1: A Star Shines Over Mt. Morris Park (2021 words)

Stacy Mulder (Ball State University)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Other Resources

Related Groups

In 1992, author Henry Roth broke an authorial silence of nearly sixty years by publishing the first novel in the four-volume series entitled Mercy of a Rude Stream. The four novels—A Star Shines over Mt. Morris Park, A Diving Rock on the Hudson, From Bondage, and Requiem for Harlem—together combine to form something of an epic in their depiction of Ira Stigman, an aging author writing the story of his own troubled teenage years during the early part of the twentieth century; Stigman's tale is a near duplicate of Roth's own story. Offering a writing style quite different from that see in his first work, Call It Sleep, Roth provides the Mercy of a Rude Stream reader with a story that is …

Citation: Mulder, Stacy. "Mercy of a Rude Stream Volume 1: A Star Shines Over Mt. Morris Park". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 06 October 2004 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=16592, accessed 07 May 2021.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here