D. H. Lawrence: Studies in Classic American Literature

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Studies in Classic American Literature (1923) by D. H. Lawrence is classified as a work of literary criticism, although it defies accepted norms of critical discourse in its informally agitated style and sweepingly provocative assertions. It belongs just as uneasily to two other genres, as a prose-poem on the epic subjects of American destiny and mythology, and as a series of prophetic sermons on the ills of the American “soul”. It is made up of eleven essays on eight American authors: Benjamin Franklin, Hector St John de Crèvecoeur, James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Richard Henry Dana, Herman Melville, and Walt Whitman, preceded by an introduction, “The Spirit of Place”.…

2163 words

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "Studies in Classic American Literature". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 October 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=1850, accessed 29 January 2023.]

1850 Studies in Classic American Literature 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.