Nadeem Aslam, Maps for Lost Lovers

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Maps for Lost Lovers

(2004) is Nadeem Aslam’s semi-autobiographical second novel. Placed within the scope of Aslam’s oeuvre,


continues his focus on the internal dynamics of a Pakistani Muslim community, as explored in

Season of the Rainbirds

(1993). Aslam confidently asserts a lyrical aesthetic style, which recurs and is further developed in his later novels

The Wasted Vigil

(2008) and

The Blind Man’s Garden

(2013). The novel has won a number of prizes, including the Kiriyama Prize in 2005—awarded to books that foster “greater understanding” of the Pacific Rim and South Asia.

Maps is Aslam’s only novel set primarily in Britain. It concerns a working class and predominantly Muslim Pakistani immigrant community in a mill town in Northern England. Aslam’s narrative

1248 words

Citation: O'Loughlin, Liam. "Maps for Lost Lovers". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 May 2013 [, accessed 29 May 2024.]

24354 Maps for Lost Lovers 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.