Ursula Le Guin, The Farthest Shore

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Ursula K. Le Guin’s

The Farthest Shore

was published in 1972 by Atheneum Books and was originally intended to be the final volume in the Earthsea cycle. In 1973, the book received the distinction of being the winner of the National Book Award for Children’s Literature (a distinction that the previous volume in the series was a runner-up for the year before). In 1972, Le Guin’s

The Lathe of Heaven

(1971) won the Locus Award for Best Novel. These awards demonstrate that Le Guin continued to work in both the science fiction and fantasy genres, and did so at the highest level.

A plot overview follows the same basic structure of the two previous volumes in the series: Ged must go on a quest, and this quest results in the restoration, although changed, of something lost. The framing of the

1999 words

Citation: Shelton, Luke. "The Farthest Shore". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 December 2019 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=24758, accessed 23 June 2024.]

24758 The Farthest Shore 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.