Ursula Le Guin, Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Ursula K. Le Guin’s fourth book in the Earthsea cycle would not be published until approximately eighteen years after the third. Published in 1990,


initially bore the phrase “the last book of Earthsea” on its cover. Although there were two additional volumes eventually added to the cycle in 2001, this book stood as the final text in the series for around a decade. Le Guin won the 1990 Nebula Award for Best Novel from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America for



The main character in Tehanu is decidedly not Ged. Instead, the story focuses on, and is told from the perspective of, Tenar. This is the same character whom Ged met in the second book of the series, The Tombs of Atuan. She is now a middle-aged woman residing on Gont, the island where the series

2155 words

Citation: Shelton, Luke. "Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 18 January 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=24759, accessed 21 June 2024.]

24759 Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.