Ursula Le Guin, The Other Wind

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Published by Harcourt in 2001,

The Other Wind

is the final volume of Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea cycle. It was published in the same year and by the same publisher as

The Tales of Earthsea

, a collection of stories set within the same fictional world. In a way this publication history is unfortunate for the novel.

The Tales of Earthsea

have been granted several notable awards, and this has caused the collection of short stories to outshine the text that truly concludes the cycle.

The action of the story takes place around fifteen years after the story of Tehanu. The novel begins much like the other books in the series, by focusing on a single protagonist. In this case, a sorcerer named Alder travels around the archipelago trying to find an answer to his recurring nightmare. When he

1878 words

Citation: Shelton, Luke. "The Other Wind". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 17 February 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=24761, accessed 29 February 2024.]

24761 The Other Wind 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.