Anne Stevenson, Travelling Behind Glass: Selected Poems 1963-1973

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Travelling Behind Glass

(1974) was Anne Stevenson’s third published collection of poems, but her first to be published in the UK. It is a slim, paperback volume of fifty-three pages, drawing on poems written during the previous ten years, dedicated to her three children, Caroline, John and Charles, published simultaneously by OUP with

Correspondences: A Family History in Letters.

Stevenson put the volume together during 1973-4, while she was working as the Compton Fellow of Creative Writing at the University of Dundee and living at Tayport, midway between Dundee and St Andrews. The volume includes six poems from

Living in America,

1965; twenty-one from


1969; and twelve poems previously uncollected. Just under a third of the poems, then, are collected for the first time.

Of the

535 words

Citation: Gordon, Ian. "Travelling Behind Glass: Selected Poems 1963-1973". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 18 January 2011 [, accessed 21 May 2024.]

31600 Travelling Behind Glass: Selected Poems 1963-1973 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.