Anne Stevenson, Granny Scarecrow

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Granny Scarecrow

(2000), published by Bloodaxe Books, is Anne Stevenson’s fifteenth collection of poems, containing work written since the publication of

The Collected Poems of Anne Stevenson 1955-1995

(1996). It was the first volume of her poetry to be published since the closure of OUP’s Oxford Poets Series, and includes forty-four new poems arranged in three sections, dedicated to the painter Nerys Johnson (1942-2001), whose spirit Stevenson describes as “a durable fire”. One of Johnson’s intensely-coloured, gouache paintings, “Sunflower and Stars”, 1999, illuminates the cover. The collection was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation for 2000 and was short-listed that year for both the Eliot and Whitbread prizes.

The opening section brings together eight poems inspired by

1240 words

Citation: Gordon, Ian. "Granny Scarecrow". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 31 October 2011 [, accessed 21 May 2024.]

31615 Granny Scarecrow 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.