Anne Stevenson, Poems 1955-2005

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Poems 1955-2005

is the third overall collection of Stevenson’s work, following on from her

Selected Poems 1956-1986


The Collected Poems of Anne Stevenson 1955-1995

, both of which it replaces. The major difference from the two previous collections, apart from the additional ten years coverage, is that, where in the earlier volumes Stevenson had arranged the poems chronologically, according to date of publication, she has arranged them thematically in the present collection.

Poems 1955-2005

is an extensive volume of over four hundred pages, containing more than three hundred of the six hundred plus poems she has written. It is the most complete edition of Stevenson’s work currently available.

The volume is dedicated to Stevenson’s husband, Peter Lucas, and prefaced with her dream

769 words

Citation: Gordon, Ian. "Poems 1955-2005". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 07 March 2012 [, accessed 21 May 2024.]

31617 Poems 1955-2005 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.