Virginia Woolf: Moments of Being (4120 words)

John Mepham (Kingston University)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Other Resources

Moments of Being is a collection of five autobiographical pieces written by Woolf but not published in her lifetime. These pieces were found in her husband's papers after his death and were used by Quentin Bell in the preparation of his biography of his aunt, which was published in 1972. They were edited for publication by Jeanne Schulkind in 1976. A second edition, with important additional material, was published in 1985. There is now a new edition, revised and with an Introduction by Hermione Lee. The original texts are now in the Monks House Papers collection at Sussex University and in the British Library in London.

The essays collected together in this volume were not conceived by the author as making up a …

Citation: Mepham, John. "Moments of Being". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 October 2003 [, accessed 02 December 2021.]

3525 Moments of Being 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here