Edward Marsh, Georgian Poetry 1913-1915

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Georgian Poetry 1913-1915

was the second anthology of modern verse in the “Georgian” series edited by “E. M.” (Edward Marsh) and published by Harold Monro from his Poetry Bookshop in London. Building upon the success of its predecessor volume of 1912, it proved to be even more popular. Dedicated to the memory of Rupert Brooke and James Elroy Flecker, who had both died in early 1915, the anthology was in part a farewell tribute to them, reprinting six pieces by Flecker and seven by Brooke – including “Tiare Tahiti” – and his already famous sonnet “The Soldier”. At the same time it consolidated the reputations of the other principal contributors to the original

Georgian Poetry 1911-1912

anthology: Lascelles Abercrombie, Gordon Bottomley, W. H. Davies, Walter de la Mare,…

1222 words

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "Georgian Poetry 1913-1915". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 14 May 2015 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=35546, accessed 22 April 2024.]

35546 Georgian Poetry 1913-1915 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.