Derek Jarman: Modern Nature (1300 words)

John Mepham (Kingston University)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Derek Jarman wrote a series of autobiographical texts, scripts and journals, in which he again and again revisited his past and continually reinvented the forms of self-writing. The sequence includes Dancing Ledge (1984), The Last of England (1987) (republished as Kicking the Pricks (1996)), Modern Nature (1991), At Your Own Risk (1992), Smiling in Slow Motion (2000), Blue (1993), and Chroma (1994).

In Modern Nature Jarman's self-writing takes a very sharp new turn. Instead of the dispersal and unsettled collage effect of his earlier efforts, Modern Nature seems very settled, steady and focussed. It is a work of relocation and reinvention. In the years just a…

Mepham, John. "Modern Nature". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 21 March 2002
[, accessed 23 February 2019.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.