Beryl Bainbridge, Master Georgie

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Master Georgie

by Beryl Bainbridge was published in 1998. It was short listed for the Booker Prize and belongs to the author's series of historical novels which includes, among others,

The Birthday Boys

(1991) and

According to Queeney

(2001). The novel tells the fictitious adventure of a group of Liverpudlians during the Crimean War (1853-1856).

The novel is highly structured and consists of six self-contained chapters which are told by three different narrators. This change of narrator is then emphasized by the use of different language levels, shifting intertextual allusions and differing viewpoints. The chapters are called “plates” and photography is a recurrent motif, reflecting two main themes in the story: first, that memory is like a photograph, keeping the most important

2479 words

Citation: Hiltl, Markus. "Master Georgie". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 19 May 2009 [, accessed 15 July 2024.]

3681 Master Georgie 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.