Stephen R. Donaldson, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Today, despite the

Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant

and the


sequence, Stephen R. Donaldson remains best known for his first trilogy of fantasy,

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever

(1977), which undeniably cemented Donaldson’s canonical status as a fantasy writer. Readers particularly admired the vividness of Donaldson’s world and the intensely fevered—even anguished—pitch of his most climactic scenes. The trilogy’s stark thematic originality furthermore beguiled critics and readers alike.

The Chronicles

tell the story of Thomas Covenant, a leper in our “real” world who, due to his disease, has been ostracized by his community and abandoned by his wife. Surviving leprosy, a condition with deep theological resonances, requires immense self-discipline and…

2706 words

Citation: Wise, Dennis Wilson. "The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 October 2018 [, accessed 16 July 2024.]

38853 The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.