Michael Roberts, The Faber Book of Modern Verse

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
The Faber Book of Modern Verse

(ed. Michael Roberts, 1936; revised 1951, 1965, 1982) was the most successful and influential anthology of modern poetry to be published in Britain in the twentieth century. It redefined the modern tendency in English-language poetry of the post-1910 period by constructing a tradition of technical innovation running from Gerard Manley Hopkins to Dylan Thomas via Ezra Pound, T. S. Eliot and several poets of the emerging “Auden generation”. Transatlantic in its selections, it also introduced Wallace Stevens and a few other American poets to a British readership. Roberts’s omission of certain poets (Thomas Hardy, A. E. Housman, Rudyard Kipling, Edward Thomas, Robert Frost and Edmund Blunden among them) signalled an impatience among his “Thirties”…

1661 words

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "The Faber Book of Modern Verse". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 March 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=39064, accessed 22 April 2024.]

39064 The Faber Book of Modern Verse 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.