Michael Roberts: New Country (1350 words)


Other Resources

New Country (ed. Michael Roberts, 1933) is an anthology of prose and verse writings by younger British authors then in their twenties or early thirties, most of them linked to the circle formed by W. H. Auden, C. Day Lewis, Christopher Isherwood, John Lehmann and Stephen Spender. Subtitled Prose and Poetry by the authors of “New Signatures”, it was a sequel to Michael Roberts’s earlier (1932) and shorter anthology of verse by nine young poets, and likewise published by Leonard and Virginia Woolf from their Hogarth Press. New Country differs from its predecessor volume in its predominance of prose essays and stories, and in representing an expanded cohort of fifteen writers, eight of whom had n…

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "New Country". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 March 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=39066, accessed 17 May 2021.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here