Dorothy M. Richardson, Pilgrimage

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Pilgrimage (1915-67) is a long unfinished autobiographical novel in thirteen instalments by the English writer Dorothy M. Richardson. This article provides an account of the novel’s distinctive narrative technique, a synopsis of its story-events by instalment, and remarks on its critical reception. For the novel’s publishing history and its autobiographical relation to Dorothy Richardson’s own life, see our linked article on Dorothy M. Richardson.

Set mostly in central London, although with some suburban and rural episodes and two volumes set overseas, Pilgrimage recounts the experiences of its protagonist, Miriam Henderson, from the age of seventeen onwards (1893-1912), in a sequence of …

2033 words

Citation: Baldick, Chris. "Pilgrimage". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 June 2020 [, accessed 07 February 2023.]

39258 Pilgrimage 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.