Anonymous, Hungrvaka

Ásdís Egilsdóttir (University of Iceland)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

The medieval Icelandic chronicle


records the lives of the five bishops of Skálholt, Ísleifr Gizurarson (1006–1080), Gizurr Ísleifsson (1042–1118), Þorlákr Runólfsson (1086– 1133), Magnús Einarsson (1098–1148), and Klængr Þorsteinsson (1105–1176). In addition, the chronicle relates some of church history of the period. Based on references in the text to the recent death of Gizurr Hallsson (d. 1206), scholars have dated Hungrvaka to the early thirteenth century or shortly after Gizurr’s death. All the manuscripts, however, are post-medieval. The most recent editions of Hungrvaka are in Íslenzk fornrit 2002 and a translation from The Viking Society (Andersson 2021).

Together with Þorláks saga and Páls saga biskups, Hungrvaka forms a complete, chronological

1159 words

Citation: Egilsdóttir, Ásdís. "Hungrvaka". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 14 June 2023 [, accessed 15 June 2024.]

41251 Hungrvaka 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.