Jean Rhys: Good Morning, Midnight (1971 words)


Other Resources

Jean Rhys's four early novels, all published during the twenty years between the two world wars – Quartet (1928), Leaving Mr Mackenzie (1930), Voyage in the Dark (1934), and Good Morning, Midnight (1939) – are often considered together. Their central characters, although ostensibly different, share the same qualities of vulnerability, depression, loneliness and desperation. Forgotten by their families during the interwar years, they perpetually attach themselves to unsuitable men in exchange for alcohol, luxurious clothes, and attention. These four novels are often dismissed by critics as too experimental; they turn instead to Rhys's 1966 masterpiece, Wide Sargasso Sea, for any …

Citation: Gildersleeve, Jessica. "Good Morning, Midnight". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 September 2007 [, accessed 17 September 2021.]

4930 Good Morning, Midnight 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here