Michael Roberts, Collected Poems

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Michael Roberts's

Collected Poems

, edited by his widow Janet Adam Smith, contains nearly all of the poems he published from 1931 onwards, along with a selection from his first volume,

These Our Matins

(1930), and some late, previously unpublished poems.

The early poems are predominantly philosophical arguments cast in stanzas and regular metres. “Time and the Crystal Image” echoes T. S. Eliot's “Sweeney Among the Nightingales”, while “Perspective” draws upon Herbert Read's neo-metaphysical “Equation”. Even where Roberts writes in the first-person singular, he eschews affective discourse: the “I” of “Midnight” registers the stars through the window, but gives little indication of what he felt; the exception is the personal lyric, “Poem for Elsa”. Through images

866 words

Citation: Whitworth, Michael. "Collected Poems". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 02 March 2005 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=5944, accessed 21 June 2024.]

5944 Collected Poems 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.